Day Eight

Well, today is the big day.  Is my colon cancer only that one place I saw, or is it everywhere?  The doctor will definitely be calling today, and I’m trying to prepare myself for anything.  I was so nervous all day yesterday, and nervous the second I woke up today.  I just need to know and begin to deal with the news from there.

I told the girls on my hall and my advisees that I had cancer last night.  Some took the news in a way I expected – surprise.  Others were much more upset than I was anticipating, some girls who I did not feel a strong connection to.  It made me sad, but it made me feel loved, and that was special.  I didn’t think I could get my whole speech out without falling apart, but I did it.  Tearfully, but completely.

Laura has become my new best friend.  She is my first contact to relay information to the faculty, and she is my main support system.  She was wonderful yesterday, just spending time with me as I waited for the phone to ring (which, of course, it never did).  Susan was supportive and positive and strong, as usual.  So glad she is around.

I will most likely post twice today, posting for the second time after I have received my news.

34 years old. Colon cancer survivor. Mom and wife, lover of life.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

What I Write
When I Write
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Months

Enter your email address to follow me and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

