Day Thirty-Six

Day 36I have decided to run a marathon.  Well, I guess it’s not technically a marathon, but I don’t know what else to call it.  It’s a 5k “race.”  My brother and his girlfriend found this site last week, and they plan to run it with me.  Now, as a child, I had asthma, and I had it pretty bad.  I needed to use one of those breathing machines on a regular basis, and missed many days of school simply because I couldn’t breathe.  Now, though, the actual asthma is gone, but I definitely don’t have the lung capacity of, say, a “normal person.”  I’ve never been able to run more than a mile in my life, even at my peak fitness level.  But that’s okay.  A 5k is 3.1 miles, and I’m going to do it on March 20 of 2010, and that’s that.  I need a goal like this to not only make me feel like I am getting officially better, but to give myself a true fitness goal.  This may sound pathetic, but I lost 10 pounds with this disease so far, and I’m gaining it back already.  I would love to stay at 115 pounds, and running is a way to get myself there healthily.  I don’t want to be too skinny, but I have felt out of shape for at least a few years, so this is going to be my gateway back into prime physical health.  I am quite excited about it.

Weight: 117.5 lbs; Mood: Ready!

34 years old. Colon cancer survivor. Mom and wife, lover of life.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

What I Write
When I Write
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Months

Enter your email address to follow me and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

