News. Always News.

Just when I decide to “move on” – so to speak – I have a non-normal report from my most recent MRI.

In better news, I think I got the weird Natalie Dormer (aka Margaery Tyrell) crooked smile down. What do you think?

Cancer Survivor Game of Thrones

Me

natalie_dormer

Natalie

So I’ve spent the last 48 hours looking up everything I can about “hyperenhancing liver lesions.”  Having very bad luck.  Or perhaps my doctor just doesn’t use the words most people use for whatever these things on my liver are.  Mostly, I’m finding sites for those training in radiology to recognize different types of spots on MRIs.  Not all that helpful for me.

So let’s say they are lesions.  To my mind, a lesion indicates damage.  Which indicates an action to damage said damaged organ.  Which tells me that my liver is damaged.  Which is not cool.  Because the only thing I am aware of that damages the liver is drinking.  And I have to tell you, since all this cancer stuff started in 2009, I haven’t slowed down on drinking.  Despite all of my new healthy behaviors: better eating, more exercise, more positive thinking.  I still drink.  Between 3 and 5 drinks most nights.  A lot of times, that’s wine.  Other times, it’s whiskey.  Sometimes it’s two drinks.  Sometimes, it’s 7.  I was doing some reading.  CNN says that more women are drinking than ever.  It also says that women often lie to their doctors about how much they drink.  I am one of those women.  I tend to say that i drink 2 glasses of wine, maybe twice a week.  Not so.

So this liver stuff has me worried.  So here’s to day two of not drinking.  Guess I have to find something else to do with my time.  Any ideas?

34 years old. Colon cancer survivor. Mom and wife, lover of life.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Thoughts

Leave a Reply

What I Write
When I Write
June 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Months

Enter your email address to follow me and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

