Avocados do not a mousse make.

I watched Giada the other day, and was shocked and astounded that she would defile such a luscious fruit by adding chocolate to it and calling it a mousse. Really not okay.

Then I thought to myself, wait a second.  Giada may be a genius.  I mean, if this tasted good, it is SO healthy.

She has her own recipe, but I just got the ingredient list and did my own thing.  And this is what I did.

Two avocados, 1/4 c. of semisweet chocolate, 1/4 c. cocoa powder, 2 Tbsp. agave, and 1/4 c. coconut milk (canned).  Blended it in a food processor.

chocolate mousse healthy recipe

Then it looked like this:

chocolate mousse healthy recipe

Then I put it into ramekins for a couple hours and chilled it.  And it looked like this:

chocolate mousse healthy

And it was delish.  Now, I’m pretty sure I forgot vanilla.  I think Giada added vanilla.  And I’m pretty sure it would be even better with either a nut of some kind or a dried fruit.  Or caramel.  Or any number of exciting additions.  BUT, it is a great base for any kind of chocolate mousse you could ever want.  And the best part?  It’s SUPER healthy.  For a dessert.

You know about why avocados are so good, right?  Good for your heart, good for reducing inflammation, good cancer fighter, makes your skin lovely… I could go on. I worship avocados. Eat them, if you don’t already.

So how’d this dessert do, really?  Let’s see…

  • Calories: 192
  • Carbs: 22g (WHAT???  SO good.)
  • Fat: 15g
  • Sugar: only 14g
  • 10% vitamin C, 5% iron, 2% A, and 1% calcium for the day.

For a dessert, this is no joke good for you.  I’m making this once a week.  At least.

You’re welcome.

34 years old. Colon cancer survivor. Mom and wife, lover of life.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Recipes

Leave a Reply

What I Write
When I Write
June 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Months

Enter your email address to follow me and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

