Fitter. Happier. More productive.

Positivity is the word of the week for me.

I am having a lot of trouble, both at work and in my personal life, adhering to the commitments I have tried to make, both to myself and to others.  Can I contact all of the sponsors for our event?  Can I workout daily?  Can I eat in the way I know is best for me?

Unfortunately, the answer to all of those questions is “no.”

I’m not sure what do to, at this point.  I feel pulled in many directions, and I feel exhausted and unfulfilled.  I’m really confused as to my next step.

Change jobs?  Or merely change my perspective?

This post is already boring me, so I’d like to share a fantastic recipe for pecan pie.  I’m my brother’s “best man” (I like to call it “bestie”) for his wedding in August.  On top of my BM duties, I was also asked to provide 100 pecan pie tartlets for the reception.  I tested 6 recipes…

pecan pie recipe

After eating these delicious treats, the pies looked like this…

pecan pie recipe

Destroyed.

After much searching and evaluation of my likes and dislikes for pecan pie (my favorite dessert), and here is the recipe for the best of 6, taken from www.keyingredient.com.  I plan to tweak, retest, and post the PERFECT pecan pie recipe soon.  My crust is different.  I also added bourbon.  Stay tuned…

Ingredients

Serves 8 to 10
Regular or mild molasses tastes best in this pie. Use your favorite pie dough or our Single Crust Pie Dough recipe.
Ingredients
1 cup maple syrup
1 cup packed light brown sugar
½ cup heavy cream
1 tablespoon molasses
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into ½-inch pieces
½ teaspoon Salt
6 large egg yolks, lightly beaten
cups toasted and chopped pecans
1 (9-inch) unbaked pie shell (see note), chilled in pie plate for 30 minutes

Directions

Adjust oven rack to lowest position and heat oven to 450 degrees. Heat sugar, syrup, cream, and molasses in saucepan over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until sugar dissolves, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool 5 minutes. Whisk butter and salt into syrup mixture until combined. Whisk in egg yolks until incorporated. 2. Bake Pie: Scatter pecans in pie shell. Carefully pour filling over. Place pie in hot oven and immediately reduce oven temperature to 325 degrees. Bake until filling is set and center jiggles slightly when pie is gently shaken, 45 to 60 minutes. Cool pie on rack for 1 hour, then refrigerate until set, about 3 hours and up to 1 day. Bring to room temperature before serving.
31 years old. Colon cancer survivor. Lover of life.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Recipes, Thoughts
2 comments on “Fitter. Happier. More productive.
  1. Reblogged this on The Health Builder and commented:
    I agree! I work with TheHealthBuilder, and I enjoyed reading your posts! Please free to go to http://www.facebook.com/nutritionandbeautybuilder to check out some of our happy and healthy recipes and thoughts! We would love for your input as well! Your comments are right up our alley, and enjoy hearing people like you comment and share your knowledge with the rest of our followers!

  2. Cameron Von St James says:

    Hey I have a quick question about your blog, could you email me when you have a chance? Thanks! -Cam

Leave a Reply

What I Write
When I Write
June 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Months

Enter your email address to follow me and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

